Paula Mendes is awarded IChemE Sharma Medal


By lifETIME CDT Administrator: Emma Lardner (University of Birmingham)

Professor Paula Mendes, Professor of Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology, EPSRC Leadership Fellow at the University of Birmingham and lifETIME Management Committee member has been awarded the Institution of Chemical Engineers Sharma Medal which honours sustained and outstanding research contributions within the field of chemical engineering.

Professor Mendes has demonstrated great success in her work in the interdisciplinary area of nanoscience and nanotechnology, and in particular on the development of novel methods for controlling the structure and functionality of materials at the molecular and nanometer scale.

The Sharma Medal is one of over 30 awards that the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) present each year. The Medals and Prizes Committee award an array of medals that celebrate the exceptional contributions to the field of chemical engineering. The Sharma Medal recognises individuals who have made a significant contribution to field throughout their career.

Read more about the 2021 medals that have been awarded.